U16 CanAm Announcement

(COLLINGWOOD, ON) March 20, 2017 — Alpine Ontario is pleased to recognize the following 41 Ontario athletes who qualified for the Eastern U16 Can AM Championships. The races run March 21-23, 2017 at the Attitash Ski Resort in Bartlett, NH. The two coaches leading the group will be Heather Metzger/Georgian Peaks and Doug Terry/Devil’s Glen.

Athletes who achieved a top 5 finish at the February Mackenzie Investments U16 National Championships received an automatic spots directly into 2017 Can Am. These three athletes include Ashley Campbell Georgian Peaks Ski Club/SOD, Sofie Robinson/Thunder Bay Franco Alpine Ski Team (TBFAST)/ LSDA and Aaron Puskas/Norwesters Alpine Club/LSDA. The remaining athletes qualified for CanAms from their strong performances at the recent Aviva U16 Provincials in Searchmont.

1. Samantha Brooks Caledon Ski Club/SOD
2. Ashley Campbell Georgian Peaks Ski Club/SOD
3. Emma Charton Devil’s Glen Country Club/SOD
4. Anna Carruthers Devil’s Glen Country Club/SOD
5. Annie Deeks Craigleith Ski Club/SOD
6. Charlie Gougeon Comeau National Ski Academy/SOD
7. Sierra Gibson Osler Bluff Ski Club/SOD
8. Lauren Hunter Georgian Peaks Ski Club/SOD
9. Rylie Loft Toronto Ski Club/SOD
10. Mikaela Loucks Heights of Horseshoe/SOD
11. Claire Macdonell Georgian Peaks Ski Club/SOD
12. Jayden Metcalfe Osler Bluff Ski Club/SOD
13. Jessica Popadich Craigleith Ski Club/SOD
14. Sophie Robinson Thunder Bay Franco Alpine Ski Team (TBFAST)/ LSDA
15. Madeline Skinner Georgian Peaks Ski Club/SOD
16. Kendra Smith Alpine Ski Club/SOD
17. Elizabeth Sullivan Alpine Ski Club/SOD
18. Daisy Taylor National Ski Academy/SOD
19. Taylor Unger Georgian Peaks Ski Club/SOD
20. Emma Williamson Alpine Ski Club/SOD

1. James Elmgren Camp Fortune Ski Club/NCD
2. Lazlo Green National Ski Academy/SOD
3. Griffen Hanson Osler Bluff Ski Club/SOD
4. Jessie Hollands Camp Fortune Ski Club/NCD
5. Zach Hyland Craigleith Ski Club/SOD
6. Michael Jaques Osler Bluff Ski Club/SOD
7. Dylan Kerr Georgian Peaks Ski Club/SOD
8. Peter MacGregor Norwesters Alpine Club/LSDA
9. Cullen Nissen Georgian Peaks Ski Club/SOD
10. Callum McCormack Osler Bluff Ski Club/SOD
11. Oleksa Mojsiak Georgian Peaks Ski Club/SOD
12. Aaron Puskas Norwesters Alpine Club/LSDA
13. Michael Sellery Craigleith Ski Club/SOD
14. Scott Sellery Craigleith Ski Club/SOD
15. Ben Smegal Craigleith Ski Club/SOD
16. Sean Swayze Calabogie Peaks/NCD
17. Zachary Temertzoglou Georgian Peaks Ski Club/SOD
18. Kobe Villeneuve Camp Fortune Ski Club/NCD
19. Macleod Vibert Georgian Peaks Ski Club/SOD
20. Benjamin Williamson Alpine Ski Club/SOD
21. Mackenzie Wood Georgian Peaks Ski Club/SOD
22. Stefan Zivkovic Craigleith Ski Club/SOD

The races are best viewed on Live-timing.com
March 21 – Super G
March 22 – Giant Slalom
March 23- Slalom

Congratulations & Good luck!

About Alpine Ontario Alpin (AOA)
Alpine Ontario Alpin is the provincial governing body for the sport of alpine ski racing in Ontario. Alpine Ontario’s newly refined mission is to provide leadership and structure for high quality, sustainable and affordable programming and to communicate the competitive, recreational and lifestyle benefits of ski racing to the community. AOA represents four divisions, 44 member clubs and over 3,000 active athletes, coaches and officials (volunteers). AOA coordinates several successful programs across the province and continues to foster the development of “state of the art” ski-racing programs from the grass roots level to the elite level.

For more information contact:
Athletic Director
Mark Marshall
705-444-5111 x 121